SCOA League Prize Giving

The prize-giving was postponed from the Dibden event. It will now take place at the Swinley BKO Event on Sunday 27th September.

Ken has highlighted the following notable SOC results:


White             P Dickin(2nd)     S Costley (=3rd)

Red               W Smith (=3rd)

Blue              R Smith (1st)

Brown             S Massey (1st)    P Eeles (2nd)


Full results are on SCOA website. 


Local MTBO Events

Trevor Bridle from Wimborne sends the following invite. This is an opportunity to give Mountain Biking Orienteering a go in the local area, and can also be combined with Foot-O courses as well. These are a great opportunity to try a new angle of Orienteering:

It is some time since we had the two MTBO events in June and it is now my hope that we can see a MTBO event every 3 months or so. I am therefore putting on a MTBO cross country event on Saturday 26th September at Hurn Forest with start times from 10am to 12am. This will then be followed by a Dorset Schools Foot O event in the afternoon. Full details on the attached flier.

Hurn Forest is excellent for MTBO in that it has many tracks and is mainly flat. It will therefore be excellent for families or anyone new to the sport. There will be 2 cross country courses of 12.5K and 7.5K. The Forest is lovely to ride through and there are several open areas of heathland as well. The tracks and paths are well defined and good for riding with just the odd patch of sand and the odd grassy track.

MTBO Details

Event Flyer

The next MTBO event will then be at Inside Park, Blandford early in the New Year. Please see the Wimborne Orienteers web site for further details. We did of course hold an event there earlier this year and those who attended will know that this is a much more technical area from an MTBO point of view.


Dibden Results

Results for the Dibden event are now available from the EMIT website:

PDF Archived below. Splitbrowser here:

String course results are as follows:

Name Age Time (minutes)
Laura Barrett 3 19
Nicholas Barrett 5 10
Grace French 1 41
Matthew Forster 7 7
Thomas Forster 4 13
Erin Heppel 2 44
Zoe Heppel 4 44
Elizabeth Horsler 5 16
Sarah Horsler 8 8
Oline Raymer 3 58
Taylor Stafford 4 19
Travis Stafford 3 22
Rory Tidmus 3 20
Sarah Tidmus 1 20
Jacob Vronsky 6 9
Attachment Size
090906_results.pdf 31.54 KB